• Item

Common System Members

The UN Common System

The system comprises the United Nations, its affiliated programmes, thirteen specialized agencies, and one organization with a special status under the ICSC statute. The World Bank Group and the International Monetary Fund (also known as the Bretton Woods institutions) are not part of the common system.

Staff statistics of United Nations Common System Organizations (Tables) can be found in the Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB) website.

United Nations (UN) New York
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)* New York
United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)* New York
United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)* Copenhagen
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)* Geneva
United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)* New York
United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA)* Gaza
International Trade Centre (ITC)* Geneva
International Labour Organization (ILO) Geneva
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Rome
World Food Programme (WFP)* Rome
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Paris
World Health Organization (WHO) Geneva
International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Montreal
Universal Postal Union (UPU) Bern
International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Geneva
World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Geneva
International Maritime Organization (IMO) London
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Geneva
International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) Rome
United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) Vienna
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Vienna
World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Madrid
UN Women (UNWomen)* New York
International Seabed Authority (ISA) Kingston
United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) * Geneva
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) Hamburg
The Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) Vienna
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Washington, D.C

* Affiliated programmes of the UN.